dadscookgoodfood

Two dads who enjoy cooking for their families

The Science of Cooking

french toast

Over the weekend, I was still musing over how I can make the french toast taste crunchy. Other than toasting and not soaking the bread for a long time which helped, I sensed there was still something amiss in terms of making the french toast “crunchier.” First, I tried using the perfect egg beater, which we got last Christmas. It turned out that the eggs, as my wife noticed, were perfectly beaten.

IMG_2430

Then,  I checked out the fridge, scrounge for possible ingredients then saw two boxes of Crisco that has been sitting there for quite some time.

IMG_2440

A ha! I figured that if  Crisco helped me make the fried chicken crunchy (thanks to “The Help“), maybe it would do as well to the toast?  Still using some of the old procedure of cooking french toast , I substituted Crisco for oil but added some butter for flavor. “Oh man!,” as my late Uncle Pitts would say, “This french toast is like the best french toast I’ve tasted in Hawaii! Aloha!”

IMG_2434

This anecdote also reminded me that if I did not experiment on trying out new ingredients or even changing the way the toast was prepared, I would not have discovered what made the toast crunchy.  More so, I was convinced that cooking is indeed a Science! From the first persons who discovered that fire can change the taste of food to our grandparents who advised us not to forget each step in cooking food, I realized that there was so much Science involved in preparing food. In fact, my previous chat with Daddy Robert on cooking chicken shows how much Science is involved in the process: brown or dark meat cooks slower and is best kept at a certain temperature, white meat requires this much heat, and so forth.

IMG_2382

My cousin also described to me in detail how our grandmother reminded her that there’s a time to add ingredients when cooking vegetables, there’s a way of stirring the liquid ingredients while cooking fish paksiw (fish cooked in vinegar and salt) or why it’s important to put the veggies in an ice bath to stop the cooking process. Science would probably explain why adobo tastes better when kept for a longer time or why pineapple juice is a better and healthier preservative than salitre for preparing tocino.

IMG_2413

Although it is true that cooking is also an art (and that it matters), the process of putting ingredients together to come up with something that can change one’s perception, thoughts, feelings and even behaviour shows that cooking is indeed a Science. 😀

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

