dadscookgoodfood

Two dads who enjoy cooking for their families

I Want Pinoy Fried Chicken…FAST!

Last week, I was caught in a dilemma as to how I can cook a quick meal within an hour without compromising its quality and taste. I was already more stressed by the thought that I had a telephone conference in an hour and finding myself with no choice but to cook frozen chicken fast! The tap’s hot water was not enough to thaw the chicken so I can move on to the next step: marinating the chicken.

Then it dawned on me that I can speed up both thawing and marinating in just one easy step! I thought of boiling the chicken in herbs and spices before frying it! Fellow dad/cook, Robert, mentioned that boiling chicken in buttermilk will make it tender and tasty. And so, in 50 minutes, I had the fried chicken ready for my two kids while I had time to prepare for my teleconference. Kain na (Let’s eat!)!

PINOY FRIED CHICKEN

Ingredients:
1 pack of chicken thighs ( about 6 pieces of frozen or thawed chicken)
Warm tap water enough to cover the chicken
4 cloves of garlic, chopped
Salt and pepper to taste
2 tbsp. Kikkoman soy sauce
Vegetable oil and/or olive oil

1. Wash chicken thighs and slit the center with a knife*.
2. Place chicken thighs in a pot filled with warm water. Add salt, pepper and garlic to taste.
3. Set the stove on high and boil the chicken for 10-15 minutes or until the chicken is half cooked.
4. Remove the scum from the broth and continue boiling for 5 minutes.
5. Once the broth is clear, remove the chicken pieces immediately and place these on a shallow dish. You can keep the broth for later use.

6. Pour 2 tbsp of Kikkoman soy sauce on the cooked chicken and rub the sauce for about 10 minutes. This will ensure that the flavor will be absorbed by the chicken. Be careful not to scald your hands!

7. On a separate deep fryer or large skillet, pour the vegetable oil and set stove on medium high.

8. Deep fry the half-cooked chicken in vegetable oil until golden brown for about 10-15 minutes. The water in the half-cooked chicken will somehow temper the heat cooking the meat evenly. You can add the garlic from the broth for extra taste.

9. Serve the fried chicken with steamed rice, buttered vegetables, mayonnaise
or ketchup. Enjoy!

*My wife told me that this speeds up the cooking process.
+ Incidentally, one may add lemon/ calamansi or vinegar to the marinade. I chose not to do this because my kids wanted to keep the seasoning limited to soy sauce, salt and pepper.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “I Want Pinoy Fried Chicken…FAST!

  1. Fely on said:

    Is the broth set aside in #5 the water that was mentioned in #8?

  2. That’s a good question, Fely. Thanks! After boiling, the chicken naturally absorbs some of the broth (or water), which somehow tempers the heat from the hot oil. Also, since the chicken is half-cooked, the frying time will be shorter.

Leave a Reply

