dadscookgoodfood

Two dads who enjoy cooking for their families

I Miss Quekiam!

Quekiam (or kikiam) is a dish made from ground pork and shrimp wrapped in bean curd sheets.

It’s actually Chinese in origin adopted into Philippine cuisine. It’s delicious and has a unique

taste. Quekiam can be served as an appetizer, a viand or pansahog (an ingredient or garnish to other recipes).

I miss quekiam! My mom used to ask me to go to an esquinita (alley) where a quekiam

house was located to buy a few of rolls of quekiam. I remember that all I did was to sniff the

smell of this delicious, warm and freshly cooked rolls while walking back home. I don’t recall eating it with rice,

but my mom always adds it to the pancit (noodle) recipes that she used to make.

The recipe I am sharing in this blog makes about seven rolls. You can store unserved rolls after steaming,  just

by freezing them in sealed bags then thaw and fry them later if you wish. The most popular dipping sauce for quekiam

is sweet and sour sauce, but you may also use any dip you wish. So here’s to quekiam! Enjoy!

Ingredients:

2 lbs. ground pork

1 lb small shrimp, chopped

1 carrot, peeled and chopped

3 pcs. scallions, chopped

1 tsp salt

2 tbsp white sugar

1 tbsp Chinese five spice

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1 pack taupe (bean curd sheet)

Procedure:

1. Soak taupe for about 30 minutes to soften

2. In a big mixing bowl, combine all ingredients (except taupe of course)

3. Mix with 2 hands thoroughly.

4. Lay a sheet of taupe and put 3 big spoons of the mixture.

5. Roll and set aside.

6. Steam the rolls for about 25 minutes. (I prefer to use a bamboo steamer for this one.)

7. Let cool for 30 minutes.

8. At this point, you can freeze and store the quekiam in sealed bags  or fry them in oil until golden brown before serving.

Presentation matters so don’t forget to slice quekiam nicely. 😀

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “I Miss Quekiam!

  1. I am trying out this recipe only now after keeping it for a year. I wrapped the ingredients in aluminum foil (I haven’t searched for the taupe yet) and ate it after steaming, not realizing that I am supposed to fry it before serving. 🙂 I did fry a small portion first to find out if it’s salty enough, and it tastes good.

    I have some questions though:
    1. Is scallion kuchay or red onion? Internet definitions differ. Some say the sibuyas bulb is shallot, while scallion refers to the soft slender green stalks of the onion. So which one is applicable for Quikiam?
    2. How big is the carrot size? I used a big one and the carrot taste seems overwhelming.
    3. I saw another recipe using cornstarch instead of flour. Does using flour result in a better outcome?

    Thanks for posting all the wonderful recipes. You make them appear so doable.

    • Hi Senyoratips, thank you for your comment regarding the Quekiam recipe. To answer your questions, first, scallions are most commonly referred to as green onions. They are a variety of young onions with a long, thin white base that has not yet developed into a bulb and long straight green stalks that look like giant chives. Both the white base and the green stalks are commonly used chopped. (about.com) Regarding the carrot size, I guess medium sized. I don’t exactly know the weight. It’s up to you how much you wanna use, whatever suits your taste. Flour and cornstarch work the same way, to bind everything. I haven’t tried using cornstarch but I think you may have to use less cornstarch as it has twice the thickening power than flour. Enjoy and thanks again.

  2. I am trying out this recipe only now after keeping it for a year. I wrapped the ingredients in aluminum foil (I haven’t searched for the taupe yet) and ate it after steaming, not realizing that I am supposed to fry it before serving. 🙂 I did fry a small portion first to find out if it’s salty enough, and it tastes good.

    I have some questions though:
    1. Is scallion kuchay or red onion? Internet definitions differ. Some say the sibuyas bulb is shallot, while scallion refers to the soft slender green stalks of the onion. So which one is applicable for Quikiam?
    2. How big is the carrot size? I used a big one and the carrot taste seems overwhelming. Since I divided the ingredients by 4, I used 1/5 of my carrot and it weighed 43 gram after peeling.

    Thanks for posting all the wonderful recipes. You make them appear so doable.

Leave a Reply

