dadscookgoodfood

Two dads who enjoy cooking for their families

Does Chami Ring A Bell?

Image

Nobody seems to know Chami. I googled the word, searched on Wikipedia but nothing came out. I even tried

spelling it differently. I guess it’s up to me to let you know. I bet this will definitely come out of those search

engines! 😀  My mom and my lola (grandmother) calls this noodle dish, chami. The noodles

are big and fat, about a quarter of an inch in diameter. The dish itself is not soupy, and if it is, then it becomes

lomi because it has basically the same ingredients except the latter has soup. What’s good about

chami (or lomi ) is that there’s not much vegetables except for the spring onions and mushrooms.

It’s all noodles and all kinds of yummy meat. Interestingly, my family never cook chami.  My mom just buys

it from a famous panciteria (noodle restaurant) in Binondo, Manila.  I remember that their chami

had quekiam (deep fried meat roll),beef liver strips and fish balls. It’s so delicious that I can still

remember the taste. My initial attempts to duplicate it failed probably because of the quekiam, which is not

available in stores. I might still learn how to make it. 😀  Secondly, I thought that not a lot of people find liver

appetizing. So, I thought of developing my own version and substituting fish balls and fish cakes. There were times I

threw in some chicken or shrimp but my most favorite ingredient is the fish ball. Everyone  loves  chewy fish balls.

After several attempts, I found out that my chami has become a party favourite. It turns out that it’s easy

to make! Try it!

Chef Robert’s Chami

Ingredients:

2 packs udon noodles (each pack is 16 oz.)

1 pack fish ball (11 oz.), quartered

1 pack fish cake, cut in bite size

1 can of straw mushroom, drained

1/2 lb. chicken breast, thin sliced, cut in bite size

1/2 lb tiger shrimp, sauteed in garlic, add a little bit of salt

1 bundle of spring onion, cut 2 inches long

2 tbsp minced garlic

2 cooking spoons of oil

2 cups chicken broth (use a portion of this to dissolve

cornstarch)

1 tbsp adobo seasoning

1/4 cup oyster sauce

1 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp cornstarch, dissolved in  1/2 cup of broth

soy sauce to taste

ground pepper to taste

water for boiling noodles

Procedure:

1. Prepare udon noodles like you would cook pasta. Boil

water, add noodles,  and wait for the pasta to cook for approximately 8 minutes.

Drain water and wash udon noodles with tap water to wash off the extra starch. Set aside.

2. Heat a big wok then add oil.

3. Saute spring onions then add the chicken and cook for around 2-3 minutes .

4. Add the fish ball, the fish cake and the straw mushrooms.

5. Stir and add adobo seasoning.

6. Pour in the oyster sauce and the sugar and mix well.

7. Add the stock and mix well. Reduce heat.

8. Add the udon noodles and mix well.

9. Pour the cornstarch mixture and mix well.

10. Keep  mixing until the liquid thickens a bit. The noodles

will also start to absorb some liquid.

10. Add the soy sauce (about 1 cooking spoon) and

ground pepper to taste.

11. Serve hot and enjoy! 😀

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

