dadscookgoodfood

Two dads who enjoy cooking for their families

Are You Ready for a Superb Snack for Sunday’s Superbowl?

I remember when I was young, Filipinos then went crazy over watching two of the biggest basketball teams, Toyota and Crispa, during the championship game and enjoyed drinking San Miguel beer with peanuts or chicharon (fried pork rinds). Now that I am in New York, I discovered the exciting game of football!Even my wife and our kids are hooked to the game, which gives me more reasons to enjoy watching this big event in the comfort of my own home.

This Sunday at 6 pm, Superbowl XLVI is coming up! And yes, it’s a rematch from Superbowl XLII, the NY Giants versus The New England Patriots!  But a game is  only complete when you have your favorite food and beer!

Previously, I was just happy with chips and a bottle of beer. And this is actually the first time I’m celebrating the game with my core family and everyone’s going to pitch in some food! My wife is going to make tacos. My daughter volunteered to make a bean cheese dip while my son will help set the table.  And I am going to attempt to make jalapenos stuffed with cream cheese wrapped with bacon! I’ve never tried making this  snack before but it surely looks and sounds delicious; perfect for our first ever Superbowl party!

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeños
Yield: 40 appetizers
Prep Time: 20 minutes | Bake Time: 20 to 30 minutes
20 whole, fresh jalapeños
2 8-oz blocks of cream cheese, softened at room temperature
1 to 2 pounds of bacon

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Place a wire rack on a baking sheet and set aside.
2. Cut the jalapeños in half, lengthwise. Remove the seeds and membranes. Stuff each
jalapeño half with cream cheese. Wrap each jalapeño half with bacon and secure it with a toothpick.
3. Bake in the preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes. If after 20 minutes the bacon doesn’t
look brown enough, turn on the broiler for a couple of minutes to finish. Just keep a close
eye on these so they don’t burn! Serve immediately.

Recipe adapted from The Pioneer Woman Cooks

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2007/07/bacon-wrapped_j/

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

